10/20/09

It was a tiring day after a late meeting last evening.  After visiting a parishioner in Harmarville I decided to end the day in a tree.  I left the house for the woods behind the house at 4:30.  As I rounded the corner of the garage I spooked two deer that were standing in my front yard.  They didn’t go far.  I was of course in full camo and as I approached the edge of the yard, there they stood.  The fawm bolted but the big doe stayed there giving me a perfect broadside shot at 15 yds.  It just didn’t seem right to shoot her that close to the house, so I passed on by.  Never saw another deer.  Maybe I should have shot her just as pest control.  They have been killing my rhodedendrons and hostas.  Actually, I’m glad she is still around to attrack a buck hopefully another day.

Leave a comment