At the beginning of the 2009 archery season I have one ladder stand(A) in the valley below the house.  It is near the intersection of two heavily traveled trails.  Also about 300 yards to the south of this stand and on the other side of a small stream I have a hang on stand(B) which is within 20 yards of a couple les used trails, but last year there was a scrape nearby.  Up the hollow by 200 yards of so I have two more hang on stands, one near the stream and a couple trails(C) and the other further up the hill but near a bedding area(D).   I have given them letters for now.  Perhaps I’ll come up with a better way to identify them as the season progresses.

I also have done some scouting in PA Game Lands 95 and have found some fresh rubs there.  Finally I was given permission by a local landowner to hunt his 40 acres across Rt 8 in wildlife management unit 1A.  It should be a good year.  When hunting on other properties I will use my Lone Wolf climbing stand.  I always feel less secure in a climber, but I try to be very careful and always have a safety harness.  I also will try to take a friend with me if I am hunting using my climber.

Tags:

Leave a comment